You are here

Tasks and workflows

Tasks and workflows help you keep track of the things you and other users need to do. You can create a standalone task or workflow, or you can attach a piece of content to it.

A workflow is a process that controls a specific task, such as a document review. Each task can be assigned to one or more people when a workflow is being created. Workflow creators can select to automatically send a notification email to users that are assigned a task as part of the workflow, but whether an email is sent or not the task will be visible in the users My Tasks dashlet.

Once all the task actions required by a workflow have been finished, the workflow will move from active to completed status. At this point you're free to delete the workflow from Alfresco.

Individual users manage their own tasks, and the person who created a workflow manages the workflow.

You can start workflows from a number of places:
  • Hover over an item in the library and click More then Start Workflow
  • Click Tasks on the toolbar, select any option, then click Start Workflow
  • Click Start Workflow on the My Tasks dashlet