You are here

User roles and permissions

A user's role determines what they can and cannot do in a site. Each role has a default set of permissions.
The following sections describe these permissions. In general:
  • Managers have full rights to all site content - what they have created themselves and
 what other site members have created.
  • Collaborators have full rights to the site content that they own; they have rights to
 edit but not delete content created by other site members.
  • Contributors have full rights to the site content that they own; they cannot edit or
 delete content created by other site members.
  • Consumers have view-only rights in a site: they cannot create their own content.
Note: As well as these four default roles you might also see additional roles in different places in Alfresco.
  • Coordinator - has full rights to all content - what they have created themselves and what others have created.
  • Editor - has rights to edit file properties and check files in and out; they cannot create their own content.

Your Alfresco Administrator can also add additional roles.

Site managers can change a site role for the site users.

If you're a member of two user groups which have different permissions then you will get the sum total of all the permissions. For example, if Group 1 has permission to view a file and Group 2 has permission to view and edit a file, then you would have view and edit permission for the file.

Note: Site content can be defined as any content created or added to a site. This includes, but is not limited to, wiki pages, blog postings, library folders and items, calendar events, discussion topics, and comments on any content.