You are here

User roles and permissions

A user's role determines what they can and cannot do in a site. Each role has a default set of permissions.
The following sections describe these permissions. In general:
  • Managers have full rights to all site content - what they have created themselves and
 what other site members have created.
  • Collaborators have full rights to the site content that they own; they have rights to
 edit but not delete content created by other site members.
  • Contributors have full rights to the site content that they own; they cannot edit or
 delete content created by other site members.
  • Consumers have view-only rights in a site: they cannot create their own content.
Note: As well as these four default roles you might also see additional roles in different places in Alfresco.
  • Coordinator - has full rights to all content - what they have created themselves and what others have created.
  • Editor - has rights to edit file properties and check files in and out; they cannot create their own content.

Your Alfresco Administrator can also add additional roles.

Site managers can change a site role for the site users.

If you're a member of two user groups which have different permissions then you will get the sum total of all the permissions. For example, if Group 1 has permission to view a file and Group 2 has permission to view and edit a file, then you would have view and edit permission for the file.

Note: Site content can be defined as any content created or added to a site. This includes, but is not limited to, wiki pages, blog postings, library folders and items, calendar events, discussion topics, and comments on any content.

Sending feedback to the Alfresco documentation team

You don't appear to have JavaScript enabled in your browser. With JavaScript enabled, you can provide feedback to us using our simple form. Here are some instructions on how to enable JavaScript in your web browser.