You are here

Setting user permissions

Setting user permissions on folders and categories lets you control who can see and work in different areas of the File Plan.
Tip: Remember that until you have given users permission for a folder or category they won't be able to see it or work with its contents.
  1. Click Manage Permissions when you're in the folder or category you want to set permissions for in the File Plan.

    Tip: You can also hover over a folder in the File Plan and click More then Manage Permissions, or a category in the File Plan and click Manage Permissions.

    The Manage Permissions page opens with the name of the selected folder or category displayed. Any users and groups that currently have permissions assigned are also displayed. You can change existing user permissions or Remove them entirely.

  2. Click Add User or Group.
  3. Enter the name of an individual user, a group, or a Records Management role and click Search.

    All users, groups, and roles matching the search are displayed.

  4. Click Add next to the user, group, or role that you want to add permissions for.

    Tip: You can add permissions for as many users, groups, and roles as you want.
  5. Select either Read and File or Read Only.

    Read and File allows users to work with content, whereas users with Read Only permission can only view content.

  6. When you're finished click Save to return to the File Plan.

    The permissions you've set are now applied to the folder or category you selected and any folders or categories it contains. You can change these as needed on a folder or category basis.

Sending feedback to the Alfresco documentation team

You don't appear to have JavaScript enabled in your browser. With JavaScript enabled, you can provide feedback to us using our simple form. Here are some instructions on how to enable JavaScript in your web browser.