You are here

Sync conflict resolution matrix

Use this information to resolve and manage Desktop Sync conflicts.

A conflict may either be resolved automatically by Desktop Sync or may require you to do something.

User action needed

Alfresco action Desktop Sync action Result Resolution
Update Update Select either to keep your update or discard your changes.

If you keep your changes, that version is uploaded in Alfresco. If you discard your changes, the Alfresco version is applied on your desktop.

See Conflicts and Pending Syncs... for information on resolving the conflict.

Rename Rename Select either to keep your rename or discard your changes.

If you keep your changes, the Alfresco version rename is discarded. If you discard your changes, the Alfresco rename is applied on your desktop.

See Conflicts and Pending Syncs... for information on resolving the conflict.

Move Move Select either to keep your move action or discard your changes.

If you keep your changes, the Alfresco move is cancelled, and your desktop move is replicated in Alfresco. If you discard your move, the desktop move is cancelled, and the Alfresco move is replicated on your desktop.

See Conflicts and Pending Syncs... for information on resolving the conflict.

Delete Update Select either to keep your update action or discard your changes.

If you keep your changes, the updated file is restored in Alfresco. If you discard your changes, the update is discarded, and the file on your desktop is deleted to reflect the Alfresco delete action.

See Conflicts and Pending Syncs... for information on resolving the conflict.

Delete Rename

Select either to keep your rename action or discard your changes.

If you keep your changes, the renamed file is restored in Alfresco with the new name. If you discard your changes, the rename is discarded, and the file on your desktop is deleted.

See Conflicts and Pending Syncs... for information on resolving the conflict.

Delete Move

Select either to keep your move action or discard your changes.

If you keep your changes, the file is recreated on your desktop at the new location. If you discard your changes, the file is deleted from its new location on your desktop.

See Conflicts and Pending Syncs... for information on resolving the conflict.

where indicates a conflict.

No user action needed

Alfresco action Desktop Sync action Result Resolution
Update Rename File is renamed and updated
Update Move File is moved and updated
Update Delete/Move out of synced site File not deleted as it was updated in Alfresco.

Conflict is resolved by restoring the Alfresco version to your desktop.

Update Delete parent Parent file not deleted as it was updated in Alfresco.

Conflict is resolved by restoring the file from Alfresco to your desktop.

Rename Update File is renamed and updated
Rename Move File is moved and updated
Rename Delete/Move out of synced site File not deleted as it was updated in Alfresco.

Conflict is resolved by restoring the file from Alfresco to your desktop.

Rename Delete parent Parent file not deleted as it was updated in Alfresco.

Conflict is resolved by restoring the file from Alfresco to your desktop.

Move Update File is moved and updated
Move Rename File is renamed and moved
Move Delete/Move out of synced site File not deleted as it was updated in Alfresco.

Conflict is resolved by restoring the file in a new location on your desktop.

Move Delete parent Parent file not deleted as it was updated in Alfresco.

Conflict is resolved by restoring the parent file in a new location on your desktop.

Move out of synced site Update File moved to a new location in Alfresco. On your desktop, the file is moved to /<userHome>/Alfresco/orphaned as it can't be saved in Alfresco.
Move out of synced site Rename File moved to a new location in Alfresco. On your desktop, the file is moved to /<userHome>/Alfresco/orphaned as it can't be saved in Alfresco.
Move out of synced site Move File moved to a new location in Alfresco. On your desktop, the file is moved to /<userHome>/Alfresco/orphaned as it can't be saved in Alfresco.
Move out of synced site Delete/Move out of synced site File deleted
Move out of synced site Delete parent File deleted
Delete Delete/Move out of synced site File deleted
Delete Delete parent File deleted
Delete parent Update Parent folder is deleted in Alfresco. On your desktop, the file is moved to /<userHome>/Alfresco/orphaned as it can't be saved in Alfresco.
Delete parent Rename Parent folder is deleted in Alfresco. On your desktop, the file is moved to /<userHome>/Alfresco/orphaned as it can't be saved in Alfresco.
Delete parent Move Parent folder is deleted in Alfresco. On your desktop, the file is moved to /<userHome>/Alfresco/orphaned as it can't be saved in Alfresco.
Delete parent Delete/Move out of synced site File deleted
Delete parent Delete parent File deleted
where indicates no conflict.

Sending feedback to the Alfresco documentation team

You don't appear to have JavaScript enabled in your browser. With JavaScript enabled, you can provide feedback to us using our simple form. Here are some instructions on how to enable JavaScript in your web browser.