You are here

What's new in Alfresco Records Management

Alfresco Records Management just got a whole lot simpler and smarter.

We've focused our efforts on classification, so you can classify files and records so that only users with the required security clearance can view or access them. See Classification for more.

Classified content and records

Both files and records can be classified using their Classify option. There are four classification levels you can assign files and records to, Top Secret, Secret, Confidential and Unclassified.

When a file or record is classified it can only be seen by those with the required security clearance, and the classification level is shown on screen. Users without the necessary security clearance won't have access to it or even know that it's there. When a classified file is declared as a record it retains its classification level.

See Classifying a file and Classifying a record for more.

back to top

Security clearance

There are four default clearance levels that can be assigned to users:

  • Top Secret - Can see all files and records
  • Secret - Can see secret, confidential, and unclassified files and records
  • Confidential - Can see confidential and unclassified files and records
  • No Clearance - Can see unclassified files and records

See Assigning security clearance for more.

back to top

Classification life cycle

Classified files and records can go through downgrade and declassification schedules so that there classification level can change over time.

See Classification life cycle for more.

back to top

Data wipe

To ensure full security of classified content, when a classified file is deleted then it's permanently deleted and isn't available in the user Trashcan. File data is overwritten and can't be recovered.

back to top

You can follow our latest updates at Alfrescodocs.