In Alfresco, the multi-tenancy feature is pre-configured out-of-the-box, although it is not enabled by default.
When you install Alfresco, multi-tenancy is disabled. The multi-tenancy feature is automatically enabled when the first tenant is created.
However, if you wish to disable multi-tenancy, you need to delete all the tenants. See the Managing tenants.
Note: When in a cluster, all the cluster members must be restarted after enabling multi-tenancy.
Note: If you have pre-existing user logins with syntax <name>@<domain>, you should not create a tenant with that domain name. This will break the login functionality of the existing users with logins <name>@<domain>.