You are here

Desktop Sync options

You can access Desktop Sync from the Mac OS X menu bar.

System menu options

The Desktop Sync icon appears in the Mac menu bar and looks like this:

Application icon
Click the Desktop Sync Desktop Sync icon to see more options.
Sync folder
Click the folder Sync Folder icon to open the Alfresco sync folder on your computer.
Settings
Click the Settings icon to open the Desktop Sync settings menu. See Settings for more details.

Check Outs, Conflicts and Pending Syncs

Displays information about checked out files, any pending syncs, and conflicts.

  • Select Checked Out to view information about any files you've checked out from Desktop Sync, for example, file name, file location, and details when the file was downloaded.
  • Select Pending to view information about any pending syncs, for example, file name, status of the pending sync, modifier, file location, and details when the file was last accessed.
  • Select Conflicts to view conflict-related information and resolve the conflict. The information displayed includes file name, the conflict or issue, modifier, location of the conflict, and details when the file was last modified.
    To resolve a conflict, select the conflict and either click:
    • Discard my Changes: Replaces the local file with the Alfresco copy.
    • Keep my Changes: Copies updates made to content locally over to Alfresco.
Note: There may be times when you can't resolve a conflict for a file because the parent folder also has a conflict. In this case, your only choice is to resolve the conflict on the folder by either selecting Keep my Changes or Discard my Changes. Your choice is then applied to all files within that folder.

Working with multiple Checked Out files

If several files are Checked Out, you have the following options:

  • Select files individually using the check boxes to the left hand side, or use the select all files check box at the top.
  • When you select more than one check box, you can pick bulk actions at the top of the tab, Check In and Cancel Check Out. If you choose Check In, you can select if the new version is a major or minor change, and optionally input a comment. Select Check In again to save your changes. This applies the same version change and comment (if added) to all the selected files.

Update password

Desktop Sync doesn't allow you to change your password directly. However, if your password changes in Alfresco Share, you will see a notification in Desktop Sync asking you to update your password. Click Update Password to continue.

Finder menu actions

To view the Finder menu actions, follow the steps below:
  1. Navigate to your synced content in Finder.
  2. Right-click on a file or folder to access the Finder menu actions.
  3. Click Sync Now to sync your content immediately.
  4. Click Check Out to lock it in Alfresco, so that other users can't overwrite it while you make changes offline. Once you check out a file, you'll see two more options:
    • Check In: Uploads a new version of your content to Alfresco.
    • Cancel Check Out: Cancels editing to unlock the file without saving any changes.
  5. In the event of a conflict, you'll see two more options:
    • Discard my Changes: Replaces the local file with the Alfresco copy.
    • Keep my Changes: Copies updates made to content locally over to Alfresco.
  6. Click Share to enable file sharing when you right-click a synced file. Once set up in your configuration file, this option allows you to share a direct link to a file, so that anyone that has the link can view the file.
  7. Click Update Desktop Sync to download the new installer file to your local Downloads folder. See Updating Desktop Sync for more.

Working with multiple files in Finder

You can also work with multiple files by using the Finder right click menu actions:

  • Sync Now and Check Out.
  • Check In and Cancel Check Out are displayed if any file is already checked out.
  • When you click Check In, select if the new version is a major or minor change, and optionally input a comment. Click Check In again to save your changes. This applies the same version change and comment (if added) to all the selected files.
  • If you have selected a mixture of items, for example where you have files checked out and not checked out, then all the relevant options are shown. When an action is selected, it's only applied to the files that are in a relevant state.
  • If any of the files you selected are in conflict, you'll have to resolve these individually, as the conflict resolution options are not displayed.

Sending feedback to the Alfresco documentation team

You don't appear to have JavaScript enabled in your browser. With JavaScript enabled, you can provide feedback to us using our simple form. Here are some instructions on how to enable JavaScript in your web browser.