You can add content, records, and record folders to a hold to freeze them. For records,
and record folders this would also suspend their retention schedules.
You can create as many different holds as you want, which are represented as folders in the
Tip: Access the Holds area using the explorer panel to the left of the File
In the Holds area there's a New Hold option which you use to set up
your different hold types. Once you have a list of different holds you can put content,
records, and, record folders on as many of the different holds as required.
You can also add records to a hold directly from your search results, see Adding search results to a hold - Records Search and Adding search results to a hold - Share search.
When you add a record folder to a hold, all records within the folder are also added to the
hold. They'll stay on hold until removed from the hold or the hold is deleted.
In the Holds area you can see your holds. When you go into a hold you can see the items it
contains. The items aren't removed from the File Plan. They retain their place in the File
Plan or Collaboration site with limited actions available, and are identified as being on hold
Only users with permissions to view a hold will see the
icon next to
records in the File Plan that are on that hold. Users without permission to view the hold
will see the record but have no indication that it is on a hold. This provides
confidentially on record holds.
You can use the Manage Permissions option to control which users can
view, create, edit, and delete holds. Users who don't have read permission for a specific hold
will not receive any indication that records it contains are in that hold.
Tip: You can hover over a hold and click Generate Hold Report
to create a report on the hold. The report is filed as an incomplete record in your selected