You are here

Editing files offline

When you edit a file offline it's downloaded to your computer and locked in the library, so that other users can't overwrite it while you make changes offline.
  1. Hover over a file and click More then Edit Offline.

    The prompts that follow vary between browsers.

  2. Follow the prompts. When asked to open or save the file, save it to your computer.

    Note: Depending on your browser settings, the file might be saved automatically to a default location on your computer.

    The file is added to the I’m Editing view (on the left side of the library). The original file is still in its original location in the library. An icon indicates to users that the file is locked by you for editing.

  3. Now you can open and edit the version you've downloaded.

    When you're done, click Upload New Version to upload the edited version to Alfresco Share.

    You can click Cancel Editing to unlock the file without making changes.

Sending feedback to the Alfresco documentation team

You don't appear to have JavaScript enabled in your browser. With JavaScript enabled, you can provide feedback to us using our simple form. Here are some instructions on how to enable JavaScript in your web browser.