You are here

Classifying records, record folders, and record categories

You can classify records, record folders, and record categories and apply security marks so that they can only be viewed or accessed by users who have the required security clearance.
There are four security classification levels that you can assign. Security groups provide additional classification options.
Note: You can also classify files in Alfresco sites.

See Classification rules and tips for more on classifying content.

You can autoclassify by adding instructions, manually apply classifications and security marks, or both.

  1. In the File Plan hover over a record, folder, or category and select More, then Classify.

    You can classify using both Security Classification and Security Groups. You'll only see the classification options that you have security clearance for.

To autoclassify:

  1. Click Add Instructions.
  2. Click on a guide to view its topics.
  3. Click Add instructions next to the topic you want to apply instructions from then click Select.

    Tip: You can click View to check what classification level and security marks the topic instructions contain.
  4. Repeat for as many topics as you want to add.
  5. Click Apply.

    All the topics you've selected will have their instructions applied to the item you're classifying.

    Tip: If topics contain instructions that clash then the higher level of classification will apply. For example if you add two topics, one with a classification level of Top Secret, and one with Secret, then the Top Secret level will apply.

To manually add classifications and security marks:

  1. Select a classification from:

    • Top Secret
    • Secret
    • Confidential
    • Unclassified
    Tip: If you select Unclassified then the item will be available to all users.
  2. Enter a classification agency, for example, government or other body (optional).
  3. Select one or more classification reasons from the list of available reasons.
  4. You can optionally set a Downgrade Schedule or a Declassification Schedule.

    Downgrade Schedule

    Set a schedule for when the item will be downgraded, for example, from Top Secret to Secret. You can enter a specific date for the downgrade to take place, an event that means a downgrade should be considered, and instructions on how to carry out the downgrade. All of these are optional, but once you've entered a downgrade date, event, or both, you're required to enter instructions.

    Declassification Schedule

    Set a schedule for when the item will be declassified. These means when its classification level will be set to Unclassified. You can enter a specific date for the declassification to take place, an event that means declassification should be considered, and exemptions for when declassification shouldn't take place. All of these are optional.

    Note: Downgrade and declassification schedules are not automated. Any reclassification needs to be done manually.
  5. Click security marks to apply them to the item, and again to remove them.

    See How security controls work for more details.

  6. Click Classify.

    The item now displays its classification level, and can only be seen by those with the required security clearance.

    Tip: Items set to Unclassified with no applied security marks can be seen by all users.

    The classification reason and classification-related properties can be seen in the Properties when you preview the item.

Sending feedback to the Alfresco documentation team

You don't appear to have JavaScript enabled in your browser. With JavaScript enabled, you can provide feedback to us using our simple form. Here are some instructions on how to enable JavaScript in your web browser.