Users with the appropriate capabilities can add records and folders to a hold.
A hold allows objects on hold for a particular reason to be tracked as a set. Holds prevent changes to on hold objects, which have their retention schedules suspended until the hold is removed.
Note: When you add a folder to a hold, all records within the folder are also added to the hold. The records can't be removed from the hold individually, they can only be removed from the hold by removing the entire folder.
Tip: You can only put records on hold if holds have been created to add them to.
Hover over a record in the File Plan and click More then
Add to Hold.
The Add to Hold screen displays.Note: This option isn't available if no holds have been set up in the Holds area or you don't have permission to put records on the existing holds.
Select one or more holds and click OK.
A message displays confirming that the record is on hold, and the record now displays the icon.Note: Records and folders remain on hold until they have been removed from all holds they're added to.
The record remains in its place in the File Plan. It is also shown in the Holds area of the explorer panel.
Note: To remove a record from a hold hover over it in the File Plan or the Holds area and select Remove from Hold.