You are here

Managing automatic configuration updates

If you're an IT administrator, you can upload a new configuration file to the repository so that it's automatically provided to all Desktop Sync clients.
This allows you to update the configuration file for all your Desktop Sync users without any manual intervention.
  1. Create a Desktop Sync folder in the Alfresco Content Services repository path:

    /Data Dictionary/
  2. Browse to the Alfresco Support Portal and download the configuration file: AlfrescoSync.conf.
  3. Save the file in the new Desktop Sync folder.

    Note: Don't rename the file, otherwise the configuration update won't work.

    Once the configuration file is uploaded, users receive a notification telling them that the new configuration file has been downloaded.

    When the Desktop Sync client connects to the repository for file updates, it checks for new versions of the configuration. The client periodically checks for new configuration files - no more than once per 24 hour period. When a new configuration file is found, it's downloaded and retained in the appropriate folder. For example:

    • (For Windows):
      <userHome>\AppData\Local\Alfresco
    • (For Mac):
      ~/Library/Application Support/Alfresco

    The existing configuration file is kept as a backup (i.e. AlfrescoSync-backup.conf).

    Users will have to restart Desktop Sync to apply the changes.

    Note: If you're a Windows user, you'll see a message stating:
    C:\Users\Program Files\AppData\Local\Alfresco\AlfrescoSync.conf
    This file has been modified by another program. Do you want to reload it?
  4. Select OK to apply the changes to your configuration.

Sending feedback to the Alfresco documentation team

You don't appear to have JavaScript enabled in your browser. With JavaScript enabled, you can provide feedback to us using our simple form. Here are some instructions on how to enable JavaScript in your web browser.